Are upgrades free?
Upgrading to a new version of Live (e.g. from Live 10 to Live 11), or from different editions, like Intro to Standard or Suite, would be a paid upgrade. Updating a Live license during the life cycle of Live, such as the update 10.0.6 to 10.1, is free for the license holder.
Can I upgrade with discounted pricing?
If you already own a Live license, you are automatically eligible for discounted upgrade pricing. Our webshop calculates your personal upgrade options based on the Live license registered in your account.
How can I upgrade my Live license?
To upgrade, log into your Ableton.com user account and then go to the webshop. Here you'll find your upgrade options based on your current license, as well as a way to purchase the upgrade.
I can't find my serial number, how can I upgrade?
As long as your Live serial is registered to your Ableton.com account, you can access the discounted upgrades in the webshop. View this article if you serial number is missing or isn't registered.
Can I upgrade with an educational discount?
We do not offer an additional EDU discount on upgrades however educational licenses can be upgraded at regular discounted pricing.
Is there an upgrade option for Push?
Discounted upgrades are only available for Live.
Will my Max for Live license be available if I upgrade to a new version of Live?
Yes, if you have Live 10 Standard with Max for Live and want to upgrade to Live 11 Standard, your Max for Live serial will work with both, Live 10 and Live 11. You will need to re-authorize Live again to activate your Max for Live license.
Will my instrument add-ons and Packs work if I upgrade to a new version of Live?
Yes, any Live instrument add-ons and Packs will work in Live 11.
To access Live instrument add-ons you will need to re-authorize Live.
To access old Pack content you can follow these steps.
Will my settings stay in place after upgrading to a new version of Live?
Yes. Upgrading the Live Application is not expected to change your previously saved preferences and settings.
Do I need to install my old version of Live before upgrading?
No, you will be able to download the latest Live installer after upgrading from your user account.
Can I transfer my old license to someone else now that I've upgraded?
You may not transfer an older version of Live which has been upgraded, unless you wish to transfer the complete license (including all upgrades).
If you previously owned licenses for any add-on components and then upgraded to Suite, you can no longer transfer them separately, as they have been absorbed into your Suite license.
Non-Suite add-ons such as the Ableton Partner Instruments and third party Packs can be transferred separately.