Automatic Updates & Manual Updates
- Live Versions: 8.3 - 10
- Operating System: All
What are Automatic Updates?
Instead of manually installing the latest Live updates, the existing Ableton Live application can keep itself up-to-date automatically. Every change to Live initially passes through a large suite of automated tests, gets tested internally and is then used by beta testers for several thousand hours before it gets released as a final update. This way, we aim to deliver stable versions with all included improvements.
Updates are very small files. If an internet connection is established, available updates will be downloaded when Live is started. The previous version will remain running until Live is closed, but the updated version will be launched automatically the next time you start Live.
Enabling Automatic Updates
Automatic updates can be enabled or disabled in the Licenses/Maintenance tab in Live's Preferences:
Note: In the Live 10 Beta, automatic updates are on by default and can't be disabled. The release version will have the usual toggle.
You can always download and install updates manually as follows:
- Check if a new update is available via Live's Help menu.
- Temporarily enable Get Software Updates in Live's Preferences.
- Restart Live and wait a few minutes to be sure the update gets downloaded.
- Restart Live. It is now updated.
- Disable Get Software Updates again.
Alternatively, you can download the full installer of the latest version from your Ableton user account.
What to do if Live is not updating automatically
If Live isn't automatically updating, please check what you can do to make it work.