How to re-authorize Live

  • Live Versions: 9-10
  • Operating System: All

If you purchase a Pack, a Live device, or add Max for Live to your existing license, you'll need to re-authorize Live before you can use your new products.

Note: Re-authorizing Live on the same computer does not affect your authorization allowance limit.

  1. Open Live's Preferences → Licenses Maintenance.
  2. Click "Authorize at ableton.com".
  3. This will open a web browser window which will connect to your Ableton.com user account.
  4. Login with your Ableton.com account details in case you haven't already.
  5. Select the correct license in the dropdown (if you have more than one) and click "Authorize".
  6. Then you'll be brought to Live again and receive a confirmation of successful authorization.
  7. Your new product(s) should appear in Live's browser.

Note: If online authorization doesn't work, try offline authorization instead.

Further Troubleshooting

Troubleshooting authorization problems.