Using "Collect All and Save"

  • Live Versions: All
  • Operating System: All

When you save a set using "Save" or "Save as...", Live only stores references to the files used in the set. If you're transferring the set to another computer or user, we recommend that you use the "Collect all and Save" option.

Collect All and Save copies the following items into these subfolders within the Project folder:

  1. Any audio files used are copied to Samples → Collected.
  2. Any video files used are copied to Samples → Collected.
  3. Any Max for Live devices used are copied to Presets.

Note: It's not possible to copy plug-ins to the Project folder. These need to be installed separately on each computer.

How to "Collect All and Save" a set

Step 1:

First make sure you have saved the set into a unique Project folder.

Step 2:

 From the File menu click "Collect All and Save"

Screen_Shot_2017-03-17_at_11.14.23.png

Or you can also do this through Live's File Manager.

File→ Manage Files → Manage Project → External Files → Collect Into Project:

Screen_Shot_2018-01-23_at_13.05.48.png

Step 3:

Specify which media files should be copied and click "Ok".

Screen_Shot_2018-01-23_at_13.06.58.png

Step 4:

To move or transfer the project, copy the entire Project folder including all subfolders and files.

Here is an entire Project with all its subfolders:

Screen_Shot_2017-03-17_at_11.43.03.png

For our recommendations on transferring a Live Set, please check this guide

Our dedicated Chapter in the Live Manual also covers this area in detail.