How to reset Live

  • Live Versions: All
  • Operating System: All

Resetting Live does the following:

  • If you have a template set, it is deleted.
  • Live's preferences are deleted; audio and MIDI hardware needs to be selected again, input/output names added again, plug-in folders need to be re-enabled (VSTs need to be rescanned), any custom preferences need to be set again.
  • The Undo history is deleted.

Note:

  • Rather than deleting, you can instead move these files to another location (eg. Desktop). If the reset doesn't help, then you can move them back afterwards.

Mac

    1. Close Live.
    2. In Finder, open this hidden folder (where x.x.x is the installed version of Live, eg. 10.1.1):
      Users/[username]/Library/Preferences/Ableton/Live x.x.x/
      Note: Here's how to access hidden folders on Mac.
    3. Delete Preferences.cfgUndo folder (in Live 9 this is Undo.cfg) and Template.als (if present).
    4. Launch Live.

Windows

    1. Close Live.
    2. In Windows Explorer, open this hidden folder (where x.x.x is the installed version of Live, eg. 10.1.1):
      Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Ableton\Live x.x.x\Preferences\
      Note: Here's how to access hidden folders on Windows.
    3. Delete Preferences.cfgUndo folder (in Live 9 this is Undo.cfg) and Template.als (if present).
    4. Launch Live.