How to reset Live

  • Live Versions: ALL
  • Operating System: ALL

In order to perform a full reset of Live, please take the following steps:

1. Close Live

2. Delete the files "Preferences.cfg", "Template.als" and "Undo.cfg" (if available) in the following folder:

Mac OS X: 

/Users/[username]/Library/Preferences/Ableton/Live x.x.x/

Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10: 

\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Ableton\Live x.x.x\Preferences\

Windows XP:

\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Ableton\Live x.x.x\Preferences\

3. If you have previous versions of Live installed you should also delete the same files in their respective folders

4. Restart Live

This will reset Live completely. Your template set will be erased (if you have one), audio and MIDI hardware needs to be setup again in Live's preferences. Also plug-in support needs to be enabled and your custom preferences need to be set again.

Note that these folders may be hidden on your computer, depending upon your operating system.  Please refer to the following knowledge base article for further information on how to access hidden folders on Windows and Mac OS X.