How to switch to the official Live 9 release after having used the Live 9 Beta

  • Live Versions: 9
  • Operating System: All

Installation

Your currently installed Live 9 version will automatically update to the latest version of Live 9 if you have automatic updates turned on in Live's Licenses/Maintenance preferences.  

You can also download the latest version of Live directly from your account and install it manually - especially if you are still running Live 9.0.6 or 9.2.3 (which won't automatically update), or if you have automatic updates turned off.

The official Live 9 release version does not use the Live 9 Beta Preferences, but will copy the Preferences from the currently-installed version.  Any changes made in the Preferences of a Live 9 Beta version would therefore need to be applied again to Live 9.

Also, all additional Live Packs installed in a Live 9 Beta version will not be seen by Live 9, and will need to be installed again.

Manually Copying Preferences and Packs

If you are happy with your Preferences configuration and the Packs you installed with the Live 9 Beta, you can manually copy the content from the latest Live 9 Beta Preferences folder on your computer and paste it into the Live 9 Preferences folder that will be available after the latest version of Live has been started once.

These directories can be found under:

Windows XP

\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Ableton\Live x.x.x\Preferences\

Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10

\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Ableton\Live x.x.x\Preferences\

Mac OS X

/Users/[username]/Library/Preferences/Ableton/Live x.x.x/

Since these paths are hidden by default, it will be necessary to enable displaying hidden folders under Windows and OS X.