Presets not recalled on VST/AU

  • Live Versions: All
  • Operating System: All

If a VST or AU plug-in preset fails to be recalled, or resets to a default preset when a live set is re-opened this usually happens because the plug-in is outdated. Typically this may occur after an operating system update, where the version of the plug-in is not fully compatible with the new OS.

The state of a plug-in is stored in a reserved binary data block in a Live set. This binary data block can only be read or written to by the plug-in itself. 

Usually re-installing the plug-in will resolve the issue.

  1. Make sure to download the most recent version from the manufacturer's website - copies installed from DVD or USB may be out of date
  2. We recommend installing plug-ins to their default system locations using our guidelines on Windows and Mac

In case the issue is still persisting after a fresh re-installation of the plug-in, we recommend that you contact the plug-in manufacturer directly.

Note: Mac Users - If you are using a file cleaning utility like MacCleaner or similar, they can sometimes fail to properly recognise AU presets and delete them. Disable the program to see if it resolves the issue