Authorization FAQs

What does it mean to authorize Live?

We use the term "authorization" and "unlock" to refer to the process of validating the installation onto a new computer. 

Each Live license comes with two authorizations which you can use to install the program onto two of your computers. These authorizations are also known as unlocks, and are used each time you complete the authorization process on a new computer. 

What happens if there are no more unlocks left on the license?

If you reinstall Live and receive an error message that you are out of unlocks, you can request more here.

Does Live use an unlock every time it is authorized?

A new unlock will only be used when Live is installed onto a new machine, or if your hard drive was wiped (which will cause the program to think it is on a new or different computer). 

If you reinstall Live onto the same computer, the program will reference the existing unlock file on your system, and will not use a new one.

Is there a way to remove previous unlocks from old installs?

At this time there isn't a de-authorization process for Live, so we recommend simply uninstalling the program from any machines you no longer use. 

Can I use my Live 9 serial to authorize old versions of the program?

There isn't a way to use a Live 9 serial number to authorize other editions of the software such as Live 8 or older. However, if you need to run an old version for technical reasons (eg. you are running a non-supported OS for Live 9), contact Support for available options. 

What should I do if Live will not authorize?

Please follow our troubleshooting guide here for common authorization problems, and how to fix them.