Error Message "Saving and exporting are deactivated"

  • Live Versions: All
  • Operating System: All

This error message is commonly shown if you are trying to open a set originally made using a full featured version of Live, for instance Suite, in a lesser featured version of Live, like Intro, Lite or Standard.

If you have previously used the free trial of Live, which is the fully featured Suite version of Live, and if you subsequently purchase Live Intro or Standard, then any Suite only devices or features contained within may be inactive or limited in functionality and saving and exporting will be deactivated.

The way to re-enable saving and exporting is to freeze and flatten the tracks containing the missing features and then re-authorize Live in Live's Preferences. Full instructions for this are contained in this article about opening sets in Live Lite or Intro that were created in Live Standard or Suite.